DeleteByQuery fails when the settings include kibana_access: rw

The blue team is able to delete by query, but the same task fails for the red team. The most likely difference in the configuration is that the red teams config includes: “kibana_access: rw”.

Audit log

"_source": {
          "path": "/*index-name*/_delete_by_query",
          "final_state": "FORBIDDEN",
          "action": "indices:data/write/delete/byquery",
          "type": "DeleteByQueryRequest",
          "req_method": "POST",
          "user": "red1"
        }

RoR Settings

- name: "::BLUE-TEAM::"
   actions: ["*"]
   indices: ["*"]
   kibana_index: ".kibana"
   ldap_auth:
     name: "ldap1"
     groups: ["blue-team"]
   verbosity: error

- name: "::RED-TEAM::"
   kibana_access: rw
   actions: ["*"]
   indices: ["*"]
   kibana_index: ".kibana"
   kibana_hide_apps: ["readonlyrest_kbn", "timelion"]
   ldap_auth:
     name: "ldap1"
     groups: ["red-team"]
   verbosity: error

I am not a java programmer, but I noticed some differences in the wildcard use in the code below line 53 of
https://github.com/sscarduzio/elasticsearch-readonlyrest-plugin/blob/master/core/src/main/java/tech/beshu/ror/acl/blocks/rules/impl/KibanaAccessSyncRule.java

Does the wildcard “indices:data/write/delete*” include “indices:data/write/delete/byquery”? Some lines have the wildcard symbol after a forward slash. That’s a rhetoric question and I do not need an answer, it’s just a hint to the possible cause.

RoR version: 1.17.4
ElasticSearch version: 5.6.9

You can see what rule is responsible for the “FORBIDDEN” in the history field of the audit log record.

I am not sure of which field contains that data. Is it “block”: “default”? That is from the relevant audit log entry.

“acl_history”: “[[::LOGSTASH::->[auth_key->false]], [::RW::->[kibana_access->true, indices->true, kibana_hide_apps->true, auth_key->true]], [kibana->[auth_key->false]], [::RO::->[auth_key->false]]]”,